Summer heat? What is this torture?

In the UK we are currently in the middle of a surprisingly hot summer. I know i just said UK and hot in the same sentence. Usually by this time of the year we barely reach short wearing weather and we always need a umbrella handy for when the heavens open which we have all grown to expect.


Unfortunately, i have found that suffering with Fibromyalgia can cause heat sensitivity and on the hottest day of the year so far I am suffering. It wasn’t until a few days ago that i really learnt the meaning of a “flare-up” the hard way. After 3 weeks of clearly doing too much for my body to handle I have well and truly hit a wall and whilst my energy levels have hit a low point my pain levels have rocketed. For the last 3 days from the moment I get out of bed I am faced with pain all over my body that does not subside until I fall asleep and I have not had a seemly good nights rest in I don’t know how long. Β I am embarrassed at how pathetic i look trying to get up the stairs, using what little strength I have to pull myself up. My walking stick has now become my best friend and is by my side more often than not.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Fibronacci says:

    Thank you for the “follow” that led me to your blog! I tend to be very sensitive to the heat too, so I can understand how you feel. Being similar in age, and suffering similar afflictions, I can relate with almost everything you write about. Thank you for writing it. It is nice to have friends who understand the struggle! πŸ™‚ Take care of yourself! **Gentle hugs**! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting and reading my post. It is nice to hear that someone else can relate to what I am talking about that is a similar age. I find that a lot of people that have similar things tend to be older. Yes it is nice to have friends that understand without having to explain πŸ™‚ I am always here for a chat or a rant if you need it. Take care 😊 x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

